VIOFO A229 Pro vs A329S: Is the 4K 60fps Upgrade Worth $110?
Buy the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH at $349.99 if you want the same Sony STARVIS 2 front and rear sensors for $110 less and 4K 30fps is enough for your driving. Buy the A329S 2CH at $459.99 if you want 4K 60fps, Wi-Fi 6 transfers, external SSD storage and hybrid parking mode.
$349.99 for the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH (viofo.com, listed as a sale price with no compare-at price shown); $459.99 for the VIOFO A329S 2CH with the 6m rear cable (viofo.com; longer cables cost more, up to $474.99 for the 20m cable). Prices verified October 26, 2026.
Neither camera shows a promo code on its official page, and the A229 Pro 2CH shows no compare-at price, so no discount percentage is claimed for it. The A329S 2CH price depends on the rear cable length you pick: 6m $459.99, 8m $462.99, 10m $465.99, 15m $469.99, 20m $474.99.
Quick verdict
This comparison is unusually clean: both cameras use the same Sony STARVIS 2 sensors — the IMX678 up front and the IMX675 at the rear — so the image-quality hardware is identical. What the A329S 2CH ($459.99) adds for $110 more than the A229 Pro 2CH ($349.99) is speed and headroom: 4K 60fps instead of 4K 30fps up front, Wi-Fi 6 instead of 5GHz, external SSD storage up to 4TB instead of microSD only, and hybrid parking mode. If you only need a reliable front + rear record of an incident, the A229 Pro 2CH is the same eyes for less money. If you pull footage off the camera often, drive long distances, or park on the street, the A329S earns its premium. See VIOFO's current offers.
Both 2CH listings below are the exact front + rear configurations compared here (no cabin camera). The live Amazon price at checkout controls; the official-store prices in this article were verified October 26, 2026.
VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH
Exact 2CH Amazon US listing (front + rear only, no cabin camera). Confirm the live price, seller and stock before ordering.
Check price and availability on AmazonVIOFO A329S 2CH
Exact 2CH Amazon US listing (front + rear only, no cabin camera). Confirm the live price, seller and stock before ordering.
Check price and availability on AmazonRecentProfit may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through these links. Read our affiliate disclosure for details.
Price: the $110 gap, and the cable-length catch
Scroll horizontally to compare all columns →
| VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH | VIOFO A329S 2CH | |
|---|---|---|
| Price (verified Oct 26, 2026) | $349.99 | $459.99 (6m rear cable) |
| Price label on page | Sale price, no compare-at shown | Standard price for the selected cable length |
| Promo code shown | None | None |
| Rear cable options | Standard cable (no length options shown) | 6m $459.99 / 8m $462.99 / 10m $465.99 / 15m $469.99 / 20m $474.99 |
| Price gap | $110.00 less than the A329S 2CH | $110.00 more than the A229 Pro 2CH |
Read the A329S price carefully: $459.99 is the 6m-cable price. Measure your headliner route before ordering — a large SUV or pickup that needs the 20m cable pays $474.99, which widens the gap to $125. The A229 Pro family has cheaper and dearer siblings on the same page — 1CH (front only) at $309.99 and 3CH (front + rear + cabin) at $379.99 — but those are different channel counts, not the two-channel cameras compared here. If you need a cabin camera, compare the 3CH versions instead; see our VIOFO A229 Pro vs Vantrue N4 Pro guide for the 3CH A229 Pro.
Specs compared
Scroll horizontally to compare all columns →
| Feature | VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH | VIOFO A329S 2CH |
|---|---|---|
| Channels | 2: front + rear | 2: front + rear |
| Front resolution | 4K (3840×2160) @30fps | 4K (3840×2160) @60fps (4K @30fps for HDR) |
| Front sensor | Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678, 8MP | Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678, 8MP |
| Rear resolution | 2K (2560×1440) | 2K (2560×1440) HDR |
| Rear sensor | Sony STARVIS 2 IMX675, 5MP | Sony STARVIS 2 IMX675, 5MP |
| HDR | Front + rear HDR | 2-channel HDR |
| Wi-Fi | 5GHz | Wi-Fi 6 (up to 30MB/s in the 5GHz band) |
| Phone transfer | USB 2.0 cable, up to 20MB/s on iPhone 16 | USB 3.0 cable, up to 55MB/s on iPhone 15 Pro Max |
| Storage | microSD up to 512GB | microSD up to 512GB + external SSD up to 4TB |
| GPS | Built-in GPS | Built-in GPS |
| Parking mode | Buffered, time-lapse, low-bitrate — HK4 kit $25.99 sold separately | Hybrid / Low Power Impact / Auto Event / Time-Lapse / Low Bitrate — HK6 kit $32.99 sold separately |
| Rear CPL filter | CPL-300, $12.99, sold separately | CPL-600, $16.99, sold separately |
| Voice control | Smart voice control + notifications | Unconfirmed — not stated in the page view read |
| Warranty / returns | 18-month warranty, 14-day returns | Unconfirmed — not stated in the page view read |
The sensor row is the whole story in one line: identical. Both front cameras resolve plates with the same 8MP IMX678, and both rear cameras use the same 5MP IMX675. So the A329S does not see better — it sees faster and stores longer. The 60fps front frame rate is the most visible difference: fast-moving scenes stay smoother and plates stay readable for more frames. Wi-Fi 6 is the second: VIOFO rates A329S downloads at up to 30MB/s in the 5GHz band, and a one-minute 4K clip downloads in under 10 seconds, versus the A229 Pro's USB 2.0 transfer at up to 20MB/s. The third is storage: the A329S takes an external SSD up to 4TB, which VIOFO pitches as over three weeks of footage, while the A229 Pro is capped at a 512GB microSD card.
Two honest gaps. First, parking: both cameras need a hardwire kit for engine-off recording, and the kits are different — the A229 Pro uses the HK4 ($25.99), while the A329S needs the HK6 ($32.99) to unlock its hybrid parking mode, cut-off voltage protection and Bluetooth battery monitoring. Budget the kit on top of either camera. Second, stock wording: the A229 Pro page shows an Add to Cart button and says it normally ships within 2 business days, but does not print the words “In Stock.” The A329S page view read showed no stock wording either — that is not evidence it is sold out, only that stock could not be confirmed from the page, so confirm availability before ordering.
Who should buy which?
- Buy the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH if you want the proven STARVIS 2 image quality for the lowest price: same sensors, same 2K rear, 4K 30fps front, for $349.99.
- Buy the VIOFO A329S 2CH if you pull footage often or park on the street: 4K 60fps, Wi-Fi 6, SSD storage up to 4TB and hybrid parking mode, for $459.99 (6m cable).
- Measure your rear cable first if you pick the A329S: the 8m–20m cables add $3–$15, and the wrong length is the most common ordering mistake on this page.
- Need a cabin camera instead? Neither camera here has one. Compare the 3CH versions — the A229 Pro 3CH is $379.99 — or read our VIOFO A229 Pro vs Vantrue N4 Pro guide.
- Already set on the newer flagship line? See our VIOFO A329S guide for the full A329S family before deciding.
Sources and review method
- VIOFO A229 Pro official page — 2CH $349.99 sale price (no compare-at price, no code); same page lists 1CH $309.99 and 3CH $379.99; dual STARVIS 2 sensors IMX678 + IMX675; 5GHz Wi-Fi; USB 2.0 transfer up to 20MB/s on iPhone 16; HK4 hardwire kit $25.99; rear CPL-300 $12.99; 18-month warranty, 14-day returns; normally ships within 2 business days; read October 26, 2026.
- VIOFO A329S 2CH official page — $459.99 with 6m rear cable (8m $462.99, 10m $465.99, 15m $469.99, 20m $474.99); 4K 60fps front IMX678 + 2K rear IMX675; 2-channel HDR; Wi-Fi 6; USB 3.0 transfer up to 55MB/s on iPhone 15 Pro Max; external SSD up to 4TB; hybrid parking mode requires the HK6 kit ($32.99, sold separately); rear CPL-600 $16.99 sold separately; read October 26, 2026.
- Purchase links: both 2CH Amazon US listings are linked above through the current-account PartnerBoost registry (ASINs B0CKYFSKNN and B0FFT3YBH7, verified in the registry October 26, 2026). The live Amazon price at checkout controls.
- Semrush US keyword data (October 19, 2026): "viofo a229 pro vs viofo a329s" 10 searches/month, CPC $0.00.
FAQ
Which is cheaper, the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH or the A329S 2CH?
The A229 Pro 2CH at $349.99 is $110 cheaper than the A329S 2CH at $459.99 with the standard 6m rear cable (verified Oct 26, 2026). Longer A329S rear cables cost more: 8m $462.99, 10m $465.99, 15m $469.99, 20m $474.99.
Do the A229 Pro 2CH and A329S 2CH have the same image sensors?
Yes. Both use the Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8MP) up front and the Sony STARVIS 2 IMX675 (5MP) at the rear, and both record the rear channel in 2K. The difference is frame rate and connectivity, not sensors: the A329S front records 4K at 60fps versus 4K at 30fps on the A229 Pro.
Is the A329S worth $110 more?
It is if you use the upgrades: 4K 60fps front recording, Wi-Fi 6 transfers (up to 30MB/s), external SSD storage up to 4TB, and hybrid parking mode. If you only need a reliable front + rear record, the A229 Pro 2CH gives you the same sensors for $349.99.
Do these dash cams need a hardwire kit for parking mode?
Yes, both, and the kits differ. The A229 Pro uses the HK4 kit ($25.99, sold separately). The A329S needs the HK6 kit ($32.99, sold separately) to unlock hybrid parking mode, cut-off voltage protection and Bluetooth battery monitoring.
Which rear cable length should I order for the A329S 2CH?
Measure your headliner route rather than the vehicle's straight-line length. The 6m cable suits most cars and compact SUVs; larger SUVs, pickups and vans usually need 8m or more. The 6m cable is $459.99 and the 20m cable is $474.99.